This set of forums is an archive of our old CGI-Based forum platform (UBB.Classic) that was never imported to our current forum (UBB.threads); as such, no new postings or registrations are allowed here.

Please instead direct all questions and postings to the our current forum here.
Previous Thread
Next Thread
Print Thread
#99904 December 15th, 2005 at 11:10 AM
OP Offline
I just received my Park seed Catalog and saw these trees for sale. wavey
Greg angell gab

#99905 December 15th, 2005 at 10:33 PM
I've been asking this same question for a few years, Greg, and have yet to find an answer!

Hope someone comes along and loves these trees!

#99906 December 16th, 2005 at 12:23 AM
Thuja is arbor vitae. Sometimes considered invasive, they are none-the-less used extensively for hedges, windbreaks and specimens. There is an ORIENTALIS and an OCCIDENTALIS, if memory serves the main difference being the orientation of the foliage. Hardy and able to survive tough conditions like drought. Green Giant would be a cultivar of one of these. Keep in mind that some types may reach a diameter of 40 feet if not maintained, but once yearly pruning contains the growth.

#99907 December 17th, 2005 at 08:17 AM
A
Anonymous
Unregistered
Anonymous
Unregistered
A
I bought 4 of the Occidentalis trees last year at walmart on clearance for $3 each! thumbup thumbup

Mine are growing great and expected to reach a height of 10-12 feet....

#99908 December 17th, 2005 at 12:28 PM
Thanks for the detailed info, pepper, but I am looking for someone who has actually grown these for a few years.

loz - might you be able to take a picture of yours sometime?

#99909 December 17th, 2005 at 09:48 PM
A
Anonymous
Unregistered
Anonymous
Unregistered
A
Sure, as soon as it warms up a tad and there isn't a ton of snow still out there....lol

#99910 December 17th, 2005 at 10:34 PM
OP Offline
I found a little more info on them at Musser Forests.com. Under Arborvitae, Green Giant.