This set of forums is an archive of our old CGI-Based forum platform (UBB.Classic) that was never imported to our current forum (UBB.threads); as such, no new postings or registrations are allowed here.

Please instead direct all questions and postings to the our current forum here.
Previous Thread
Next Thread
Print Thread
#93671 June 28th, 2006 at 04:19 PM
OP Offline
This grew as a seedling last year, and I believed it to be a baby from one of 2 purple coneflowers/echinacea that are planted behind it. You can see one of those flowers coming into bloom towards the right side behind.

Why are the petals whitish on this one?
I did also have an "Irish Eyes" rudbeckia that unfortunately dried out on my driveway before I had a chance to plant it, and I THINK I put some seed heads in this area also - but the leaves aren't quite the same as the coneflower...

[Linked Image]

Anyone?

#93672 June 28th, 2006 at 04:28 PM
K
K
Hmm... I'm really no expert on this particular type of flower, but I've heard it's possible for flowers to occasionally have recessive gene pairings and come out a different color than their parents. Interestingly, the variation I've heard of is purple plants rarely having white babies, but as I said, I don't know enough about this particular type of flower to know if that's possible in this case. If anyone else has an idea I'd recommend you listen to them first, since they probably know more about this type of flower than I do.

#93673 June 28th, 2006 at 04:30 PM
OP Offline
I don't think you are that far off, kagmi.
I was also wondering if they might have reverted to a parent color...?

#93674 June 28th, 2006 at 04:34 PM
K
K