This set of forums is an archive of our old CGI-Based forum platform (UBB.Classic) that was never imported to our current forum (UBB.threads); as such, no new postings or registrations are allowed here.

Please instead direct all questions and postings to the our current forum here.
Previous Thread
Next Thread
Print Thread
#85863 May 15th, 2005 at 02:48 AM
M
MaryD Offline OP
OP Offline
M
What's that?!

Anybody recognize this? I know this picture makes it hard to tell how tall it is - It's weird. Most of it, that's unobstructed, is about 2-3" off the ground...but there's one that's growing up between some sedum that's grown just as tall competing for sun!

[Linked Image]

Here's something else that's growing rampant all over the yard. It looks like it's something great, but I don't know...since we inherited this garden, (and Im still pretty new to gardening) we have no idea what's growing. These are growing near the azalea bushes (pink is fallen flowers), and are just green, not a vine that I can tell (I pulled up a few), but spread like crazy.

[Linked Image]

Thanks!
Mary

#85864 May 15th, 2005 at 04:29 AM
R
R
The first is Aegopodium podograria ‘Variegatum’. Variegated Goutweed.

or Bishops Weed

will look into the other.

#85865 May 15th, 2005 at 05:15 AM
the second looks like vinca minor.

#85866 May 15th, 2005 at 05:46 AM
M
MaryD Offline OP
OP Offline
M
Awesome! That's definitely it (think I'll call it Variegatum - can't bear the thought of another 'weed'! grinnnn )

I'm not sure the second is vinca minor, though - my picture wasn't the greatest. I'll try to get a better shot of it. They're both pretty cool looking, though.

Here's a REALLY newbie question. I'm putting down mulch on my flower beds, as I make them - will creeping stuff like this grow on top of the mulch? I've been putting down landscape fabric - not sure though if it would spread on top of the fabric?

Thanks for your help! I'll be back with more photos of mystery plant #2!