This set of forums is an archive of our old CGI-Based forum platform (UBB.Classic) that was never imported to our current forum (UBB.threads); as such, no new postings or registrations are allowed here.

Please instead direct all questions and postings to the our current forum here.
Previous Thread
Next Thread
Print Thread
#77712 September 12th, 2006 at 11:15 PM
debnoel Offline OP
OP Offline
I know that mums have to be pinched back when they come back in the spring. I keep pinching them until about the middle of July and they do fine. Do you have to do the same thing to hardy asters? I have never done asters before and they are so pretty I want to make sure I don't kill them by doing the wrong thing in the spring.

#77713 September 13th, 2006 at 01:24 AM
A
A
If you want your asters to be bushy and flower more, then yes you should pinch them back. There are some cultivars that will get quite tall if you leave them be, which can look nice in the middle or back of the border.

#77714 September 13th, 2006 at 07:11 AM
You have to pinch back mums? I've never touched mine and they are like 3 or more feet tall and just starting to bloom. What do you mean by pinch them back? Cut them down in the spring? I have 6 asters this year, so I'm interested too on how to care for them.

#77715 September 13th, 2006 at 09:58 AM
debnoel Offline OP
OP Offline
When you pinch them back in the spring and early summer, they bet bushy and full. Mine are beginning to bloom now. They are bushy with lots of buds. You don't cut them all the way down, just pinch the tops so they are forced to put energy into producing more plant. I stop pinching in the middle of July so the buds will begin to form. I too am addicted to plants etc. I have to tell myself to "walk away from the bulbs." Last year I picked up a bag here and a bag there and before you know I had over 150 bulbs to plant! I was kicking myself, until spring came and the bulbs came up and bloomed.

#77716 September 13th, 2006 at 05:31 PM