This set of forums is an archive of our old CGI-Based forum platform (UBB.Classic) that was never imported to our current forum (UBB.threads); as such, no new postings or registrations are allowed here.

Please instead direct all questions and postings to the our current forum here.
Previous Thread
Next Thread
Print Thread
#7641 September 10th, 2005 at 01:59 AM
T
OP Offline
T
Hi all my name is Bill.
I am new to the forums.
I need a pickle recipe, that last for a long time because I am a locomotive Engineer. I don't have to to check on pickles to often.

So does anyone have a recipe for sour dill pickles that last a long time?

Thankyou for your help.

#7642 September 10th, 2005 at 08:15 PM
I don't know very much, but I found this recipe. It says that they will last for at least 6 weeks. Hope this helps. ...no cooking either!

Fresh-Packed Refrigerator Dill Pickles

10-14 whole pickling cucumbers, approximately 2 inches, scrubbed
3 sprigs dill
2 cloves garlic
½ cup fresh lemon juice
Cold water

1. Pack sterilized jar with the cucumbers, dill and garlic, alternating layers, leaving ¼ inch headspace.

2. Pour lemon juice over cucumbers and fill jar with cold water.

3. Seal and refrigerate. These will keep at least 6 weeks.

#7643 September 12th, 2005 at 08:26 PM
T
OP Offline
T
Thankyou, I would have posted a day or so ago but I just got off my shift.(I was in Redding California)

I was hoping for a recipe that took maybe a few months to pickle and could last in to the years if un opened. Is there a way to do that?

#7644 September 13th, 2005 at 10:35 PM
I will do some more looking for you. I don't do pickling, so I feel like the blind leading the blind here!!! laugh

#7645 September 27th, 2005 at 04:36 PM
L
L