This set of forums is an archive of our old CGI-Based forum platform (UBB.Classic) that was never imported to our current forum (UBB.threads); as such, no new postings or registrations are allowed here.

Please instead direct all questions and postings to the our current forum here.
Previous Thread
Next Thread
Print Thread
#67890 July 17th, 2006 at 12:58 PM
OP Offline
OK, this year is my first year for a garden so I am still learning. I have planted 2 watermelons plants and 1 canteloupe plant. they are growing like crazy and I don't think i made enough room for them.
my question is-is there something i can do to keep the vines from going everywhere?
and how long until i will see some fruit? (the plants are showing blooms and they have been planted for almost 2 months(i got started a little late)
any kind of help would be great!
thanks
sarah

#67891 July 17th, 2006 at 01:10 PM
D
D
hey sarah,

I too started mine about the same time yours were in ground it seems. I have my FIRST melon growing now, we had some colder weather here for the longest time but now its plenty warm! Bees are out doing their thing, so i dont have to try and keep up hand pollinating everything. I dont have watermelons, but i do have cantaloupes. As i said, first one is growing with several behind it! Give it a lil time, and i DO deadhead all my vines! It doesnt have seem to hurt the plant at all, in fact after doing so i noticed i had a gumball size melon turn into a monster 1 lb. (prolly the size of a nerf football) in 2 days time! So i suggest pruning the ends of your vines and keep them where you want them. . it doesnt seem to do any harm!

GL! And just wait for them melons. . you'll have more than u can eat soon smile

#67892 August 1st, 2006 at 03:41 PM
S
S
Hi