This set of forums is an archive of our old CGI-Based forum platform (UBB.Classic) that was never imported to our current forum (UBB.threads); as such, no new postings or registrations are allowed here.

Please instead direct all questions and postings to the our current forum here.
Previous Thread
Next Thread
Print Thread
Page 3 of 5 1 2 3 4 5
#65123 June 30th, 2006 at 12:17 AM
J
johnCT Offline OP
OP Offline
J
Originally posted by peppereater:

John, when did you become an advocate of Daconil? I wish I knew more about that product.
I wouldn't call myself an advocate because I have zero firsthand experience with it. I've never used any fungicides on tomatoes Dave. I simply did not know better until reading what Carolyn, Craig and others have experienced and used for years. I am planning on picking up a bottle this weekend to experiment with this summer. I am not opposed to non-organic methods and do not consider myself a completely organic gardener. From my reading I see that Daconil has been around for many years and has been studied ad nauseum.

#65124 June 30th, 2006 at 04:12 AM
I'd be tempted to use Daconil at this point. I'm seeing disease starting to run rampant on many plants. I can't really tell if I'm looking at primarily fungus, virus or bacteria, or some combination, and I don't even know if spraying now would be effective. Grrrrr. mad
I'll be eating tomatoes this year, for sure, but I'm starting to get discouraged.

#65125 June 30th, 2006 at 06:16 AM
I have my first tomato. It is a Taxi. Have never tried them before so looking very forward to it!

[Linked Image]

#65126 June 30th, 2006 at 06:25 AM
I found one too on one of my young plants, its the size of a marble but it wasn't there yesterday I'm sure. Perhaps its a scout to see if its safe for them to come out smile

Serious question - should the top shoots be pinched out on the plants or left to grow unabaited?

#65127 June 30th, 2006 at 06:26 AM
J
johnCT Offline OP
OP Offline
J