This set of forums is an archive of our old CGI-Based forum platform (UBB.Classic) that was never imported to our current forum (UBB.threads); as such, no new postings or registrations are allowed here.

Please instead direct all questions and postings to the our current forum here.
Previous Thread
Next Thread
Print Thread
#54236 May 10th, 2006 at 12:42 PM
matoaka Offline OP
OP Offline
I'm a newbie, and I have a question about a rose of Sharon bush that is foundering in my "new-to-me" back yard.

I'm in arid, high desert country (7a). This is the only shrub in the back yard. It's only getting about 2 hours of direct sun due to encroaching shade trees. It's about 5' tall, with lots of dead wood. It has leafed out partially, and is starting to bloom. I don't know it's age, but it has 5 main trunks that are about 1 1/4" in diameter. Though it's well mulched, it doesn't look like anyone has paid any attention to it for a very long time.

Here are my questions... Should I (can I?) transplant this bush in a sunnier location? If so, when's the best time? And, last, do I prune after blooms fade, or early next spring?

Thank you.

#54237 May 11th, 2006 at 02:18 AM
R
R
most R-o-S in the southwest are really alyogyne or another in malvacaea, if you post a pic we can tell for sure

#54238 May 11th, 2006 at 02:55 AM
M
M
May I hook on this posting....tried on another, no responses. How do I prune it to my rose of sharon to prevent it from looking top heavy. It is a White Chiffon. What do you suggest to plant beneath it (no pink colored plants)?

#54239 May 11th, 2006 at 01:48 PM
matoaka Offline OP
OP Offline
Hook away, mountaingirl! I'm interested in your pruning question, also.

Thanks RugbyHukr. I'll research the photo-posting info and get one up here for you to look at.

#54240 May 11th, 2006 at 05:48 PM
JV Offline
Critter Keeper
Critter Keeper