This set of forums is an archive of our old CGI-Based forum platform (UBB.Classic) that was never imported to our current forum (UBB.threads); as such, no new postings or registrations are allowed here.

Please instead direct all questions and postings to the our current forum here.
Previous Thread
Next Thread
Print Thread
#40287 August 23rd, 2005 at 07:12 PM
becca Offline OP
OP Offline
Have a rose bush that i couldn't find the right spot to prune.It doesn't have any outward growth on 5 stocks.It looks ill what do i do with it?

#40288 August 25th, 2005 at 12:38 PM
Hello and welcome, I would say thin the bush out. I found with big rose bushs that once I started poking about in them I found a lot of dead wood and started but cutting it out. after that it was a matter or figuring out what shape and size I wanted the bush to be and trimming back to it.

#40289 August 25th, 2005 at 08:47 PM
Welcome to the forum, becca! I am not a expert on any plant but I did want to say "hello".

Dianna

#40290 August 26th, 2005 at 12:22 AM
B
B
When i first pruned a rose bush(someone elses) I was terrified that it would not reappear in the spring, but it lived, so the next year i pruned my own and so on, You just have to do it. roses need to be pruned so take of a the lenghths of a few buds on a branch/stick and you'll get the hang of it.

#40291 August 26th, 2005 at 06:09 AM
Compost Queen!
Compost Queen!
Hey Becca,
Just to let you know, I'm going to move your
post into the plants AND flowers SECTION,
You've gotten some good response's here,
but I'm sure you'll get a few more into there..

Welcome by the way, to The Garden Helper's Forum!
We're very glad you found us..

#40292 August 26th, 2005 at 09:05 AM