This set of forums is an archive of our old CGI-Based forum platform (UBB.Classic) that was never imported to our current forum (UBB.threads); as such, no new postings or registrations are allowed here.

Please instead direct all questions and postings to the our current forum here.
Previous Thread
Next Thread
Print Thread
#40081 March 8th, 2005 at 05:44 PM
P
Paul B Offline OP
OP Offline
P
Hi everyone,

My spider plant has rapidly lost all (!) it's leaves, about half have dropped off and the rest are limp. They aren't brown or significantly discoloured.

I think it's been overwatered whilst i've been away, the soil is pretty damp.

I'm a bit of a novice so don't know what to do-i don't even know how to re-pot if nesessary. And do i take the remaing leaves off?

Any help really appreciated!!

Cheers
Paul

#40082 March 8th, 2005 at 08:01 PM
A
Anonymous
Unregistered
Anonymous
Unregistered
A
oh, if it were me, i'd just scoop out as much of the wet soil as i could and add nice dry soil around it to "wick" the water away from the roots. root rot will set in quick with a spider... which i find quite amusing NOT! i've killed a few that way!!

#40083 March 8th, 2005 at 09:30 PM
SN Offline
What works best is the hanging type of pot with ventilation in the bottom. I water mine in the bathtub and let it drain, before hanging back up. Several years ago, shortly after acquiring my spider plant, it turned brown and died. I just left the pot outside on the porch, and before long, it started growing leaves again and came back better than ever. I found out two things, 1) Spider plants are not necessarity goners if the leaves turn brown, and 2) They do better if I ignore them a lot. LOL I think I overwatered mine too at that time. Now I water about every 2 weeks, unless it is very warm, then once a week should do.

You said it had not turned brown, but if it does, you should cut off the leaves. I trim off any dead leaves.

Good luck!

#40084 March 9th, 2005 at 03:17 AM
A
Anonymous