This set of forums is an archive of our old CGI-Based forum platform (UBB.Classic) that was never imported to our current forum (UBB.threads); as such, no new postings or registrations are allowed here.

Please instead direct all questions and postings to the our current forum here.
Previous Thread
Next Thread
Print Thread
#35679 October 20th, 2005 at 08:50 PM
M
OP Offline
M
Hi everyone!! I'm a newbie to the site. My first two weeks of summer vacation were spent cleaning out and weeding my mother's flower beds that went all around our fenced back yard in California. Hated It!!! I always said I was going to dig up everything, concrete it and paint it green when I grew up and had my own yard. And NOW!!! My nephew probably feel the same about our yard. I love exotic plants and we have several levels to the yard and plant different things on each one. I have two red banana trees that have sent up six or seven babies this summer and I have no idea how to divide and repot. Any ideas?!?!

#35680 October 20th, 2005 at 11:23 PM
so ya never have dug them huh.well ya want a sharp shovel...maybe a axe(or a broke shovel& a hammer to beat it with)you can lossen the soil around them and see where the roots and croms are you'll be able to make out which crom root thinggy goes with which one.I found one was pretty forgiveing.I misjudged my axe blow and missed where was aiming& divided one crom in half....and the smaller half actually grew.I had tossed in compost and rolled to edge& it sprouted...no pot just laid there...I planted it its grown.it didn't really have any roots,just the crom it self.I claim it re generated..lol