This set of forums is an archive of our old CGI-Based forum platform (UBB.Classic) that was never imported to our current forum (UBB.threads); as such, no new postings or registrations are allowed here.

Please instead direct all questions and postings to the our current forum here.
Previous Thread
Next Thread
Print Thread
Page 2 of 3 1 2 3
#32575 August 9th, 2005 at 01:41 AM
Hi there

I am very new to plants and growing techniques. Someone I know with a Dracaena plant has told me to pot it when it has grown roots... it is now just over a year old and still has no roots. Originally the instructions were to keep in in a small pot with water. When do I pot it???

Also, some of its leaves have turned brown but most are still green, do I just take these dead leaves off for regrowth? Or leave them?

I hope someone can help me...

Thanks,

Jo

#32576 August 9th, 2005 at 06:05 AM
A
Anonymous
Unregistered
Anonymous
Unregistered
A
Hi Jo,

I am glad that you inquired BEFORE you repotted. smile When to repot is the most commonly misunderstood concept in caring for potted plants. frown

Potted plants do best when they are quite rootbound. How do you tell when it is TOO rootbound and in need of a larger pot?

Water your D. marginata thoroughly (until a little water runs through the drainage holes). Then check the soil after 3 days. If the top quarter of the soil feels very dry, then it is probably time to put it into a pot one size larger.

If the top quarter of the soil does not feel dry after 3 days, then it does not need a larger pot and it will not need water until the soil reaches that level of dryness.

#32577 August 9th, 2005 at 07:48 AM
A
Anonymous
Unregistered
Anonymous
Unregistered
A
Hi Jo,

Your post suggests you have a dracaena cutting that you have been trying to root in water for a year now. Is that correct? I don't know much about rooting dracaenas but it seems that a year is excessively lengthy for roots to develop.

Do you know what kind of dracaena it is?