This set of forums is an archive of our old CGI-Based forum platform (UBB.Classic) that was never imported to our current forum (UBB.threads); as such, no new postings or registrations are allowed here.

Please instead direct all questions and postings to the our current forum here.
Previous Thread
Next Thread
Print Thread
#24978 April 22nd, 2004 at 03:03 AM
Chrissy Offline OP
OP Offline
This is my first time growing 4 o'clocks. I am growing them from seed & they have been under grow lights. My question is this...should I have sowed them directly in the ground, or is starting them indoors ok? They seem awfully leggy & more like a vine than a plain old single stem flower. I don't know much about them, or their growth behavior...is it normal for them to be growing up a plant stake & wrapping themselves around it? Thanks for any info you can help me with:)

#24979 April 22nd, 2004 at 03:22 AM
A
Anonymous
Unregistered
Anonymous
Unregistered
A
it's been years since granny had them, but i seem to remember them being more substantial than just a single stemmed flower. infact, i always loved them, they were growing by the back door for years and years. self seeded to my knowlege every year.

#24980 April 22nd, 2004 at 07:50 AM
O
O
Maybe your soil mix has too much fertilizer? You should probably pinch them back to just above a leaf axil. That would cause them to branch and become more bushy.

#24981 April 22nd, 2004 at 02:00 PM
They are almost an invasive here. I battle them all summer along the property line. They should be fine, either pinching back or not. Here they reach around 4' or taller. So it's really up to you if you want it tall and slender or short and bushy. They should be growing like weeds no matter where you sowed them. I'll see if I can dig deep enough to get one of the tubers along the fence. I just can't remember if they're yellow or pink. I'll be out there in a little while, and see if anything is peeking out(as in color).
Have fun,
Rae