This set of forums is an archive of our old CGI-Based forum platform (UBB.Classic) that was never imported to our current forum (UBB.threads); as such, no new postings or registrations are allowed here.

Please instead direct all questions and postings to the our current forum here.
Previous Thread
Next Thread
Print Thread
#23483 April 2nd, 2004 at 10:28 PM
Compost Queen!
OP Offline
Compost Queen!
Who Grows Garlic??? Duh

Just curious grinnnn

Weezie

#23484 April 2nd, 2004 at 11:12 PM
I do! I do! I grow both elephant garlic and regular bulb garlic, don't know its technical name, and society garlic. Anyway, the elephant garlic and regular garlic can be dug up and used in cooking or for whatever you need garlic for. The elephant grows a single tall stalk that gets a purple pom-pom flower on it. This is my first year with the regular garlic and so far it hasn't bloomed, not sure if it will, but each bulb produces quite a bushy little plant with lots of grassy leaves. Society garlic, as far as I know, is just ornamental. Its more of a bush with long grass like leaves that put out quite a few stalks with purple flowers. I dig up the elephant garlic (and now I will do the same with the regular garlic) and use them for cooking. Somehow I always end up with more the following year but I don't know how, meaning I don't replant it or split my bulbs, but my elephant garlic keeps coming back. grinnnn

#23485 April 4th, 2004 at 02:43 PM
A
Anonymous
Unregistered
Anonymous
Unregistered
A
I DO TOO! BUT, not this year. I was to BUSY Romancin' Laura last fall! idea (maybe thats Why I WAS single) Well guessin I better have Laura's ol'factory senses checked out! laugh

#23486 April 4th, 2004 at 05:16 PM
Compost Queen!
OP Offline
Compost Queen!
What info I'm looking for is.....

When they say "Garlic" has a medicinal value,
I am wondering is any garlic the same...???

I'm assuming they are speaking of the edible types you are all mentioning.....