This set of forums is an archive of our old CGI-Based forum platform (UBB.Classic) that was never imported to our current forum (UBB.threads); as such, no new postings or registrations are allowed here.

Please instead direct all questions and postings to the our current forum here.
Previous Thread
Next Thread
Print Thread
L
OP Offline
L
Hi!

I am a new member, I just finished posting in the New Members area, and the site and forums look fantastic! I am a pretty novice gardener, but I learn quickly. I just purchased a new home in the San Francisco Bay Area (see my post in New Members) and I want to focus on growing fruits and veggies mainly. I have a couple of questions, and I figured this was the place to go.

First, I am looking specificly for a Don Gillogly avocado (dwarf). I have read a bit about them, and it is definitely the variety I want to try. I am wondering if anyone could recommend a place near the San Francisco area to purchase one. I am actually in Contra Costa county, but I would be willing to drive an hour in any direction to find one. I have seen them for sale on the internet from Wayside Gardens, but I read elsewhere that people that purchased them from that site got a 4 inch plant in various states (some in bad shape). Also the cost for one from there is FIFTY BUCKS! Those that bought from a nursery in the southern California area have reported buying for the same price, but getting a 4-6 ft tree. I am more than willing to pay 50 dollars for one, but I would prefer to buy from a local nursery to see what I'm getting, or at least buy from a site that can offer a cheaper price if I am indeed getting a 4 inch plant. Any ideas?