This set of forums is an archive of our old CGI-Based forum platform (UBB.Classic) that was never imported to our current forum (UBB.threads); as such, no new postings or registrations are allowed here.

Please instead direct all questions and postings to the our current forum here.
Previous Thread
Next Thread
Print Thread
Page 1 of 2 1 2
#150814 February 10th, 2006 at 12:26 AM
BeckyB Offline OP
OP Offline
I was wondering if anyone has any tips for the kinds of plants/flowers I can plant so I have something flowering throughout the gardening season. I live in zone 5b (I think) and have limited space to plant, maybe 6sq'. I am new to outdoor gardening so please use layman's terms so I don't get overwhelmed.
perpl
Thank you!

#150815 February 10th, 2006 at 01:56 AM
T
Official Blabber Mouth
Official Blabber Mouth
T
Three season planting can definitely be overwhelming. Is your space shade or sun? And how is the water situation. Is the ground boggy or fast draining? There are a number of considerations when planting different things near one another. I learned that last year. One is how aggressive the plants are. The nastrium just about strangled the marigolds that started growing down the side of the pots I had them in because the canna wanted the entire pot for themselves lol. I had a lot of color but it was a mess lol. I didn't take into consideration what it might mean when it said that canna can divide 6 times in one year. And that's about exactly what mine did lol.

I'm trying to do that with my garden. I have a sunny drought type heavy clay area that I am trying to reclaim. I've choosen the miniature snapdragons for spring and fall blooms (more spring than fall) Decorative Onions and Gladiolus for summer and dusty miller for year around attractive foliage. I also have some chinese houses as fillers for that area. This will be the first year with all the plants in place so I don't know how it will work yet.

Good luck with your planting.