This set of forums is an archive of our old CGI-Based forum platform (UBB.Classic) that was never imported to our current forum (UBB.threads); as such, no new postings or registrations are allowed here.

Please instead direct all questions and postings to the our current forum here.
Previous Thread
Next Thread
Print Thread
#141132 July 13th, 2006 at 02:15 AM
Robwen Offline OP
OP Offline
I want to start a memorial garden in memory of our Son Andrew who passed away 2 years ago. Im looking for ideas. I a total newbie gardener and dont have a clue what "meanings" of certain flowers are and how to even design a small garden.

We have limited yard space. It will be planted where there is almost all day sun. Or early morning sun, half shade half sun in the afternoon (our trailer is sitting weird lol) and shade in the evening.

Thanks yall

#141133 July 14th, 2006 at 02:37 AM
T
Official Blabber Mouth
Official Blabber Mouth
T
That sounds like the perfect place for a small garden. From what I've read when the subject has come up designing this kind of garden depends on a couple of things.

Did your son like gardening/plants? If so the plants he favored are a good beginning place.

My son passed as a baby so things that are bright and colorful and have a pleasing texture are a good choice for him.

Also when space permits a garden seat or bench with arbor are nice to have in memorial gardens so they are easy to spend time in. That way you can add a nice climbing plant to the arbor that will create shade for the person using the seat.

If your son liked birds and butterflies you may want to go with bird & butterfly friendly plants and add a bird bath or sunning stones for the birds and butterflies.

Herbs are always a nice addition to a garden because they are aromatic.

I tried looking up the "meaning" of flowers but was somewhat disappointed with what I found. Of much more interest to me in the final decision making process were plants that had meaning to me.