This set of forums is an archive of our old CGI-Based forum platform (UBB.Classic) that was never imported to our current forum (UBB.threads); as such, no new postings or registrations are allowed here.

Please instead direct all questions and postings to the our current forum here.
Previous Thread
Next Thread
Print Thread
#12640 July 1st, 2003 at 11:07 AM
D
OP Offline
D
Why would my zuchini plant produce small fruit that turns yellow and rots before it gets big? I cant seem to get any good fruit?

#12641 July 1st, 2003 at 11:42 AM
D
OP Offline
D
They turn yellow on the flower side first and show signs of shriveling up, gradually the whole thing just kind of shrivels up an falls off.

#12642 July 1st, 2003 at 11:46 AM
B
B
Hi Don,
I've learned with zuchini that you have to water the plants carefully, use a soaker hose instead of a regular sprinkler. The plant should be watered near the base not on the top. I'm not an expert, that's just what I read on this web page. I'm growing some zuchini and are waiting for some produce!

--Bunny

#12643 July 1st, 2003 at 11:50 AM
D
OP Offline
D
Thanks for the tip, Bunny. If that is your real name...were you in the Navy back in the early 80's?

#12644 July 1st, 2003 at 01:41 PM
I
I
be careful what you wish for once they start producing and they will you'll have more than you know what to do with.

#12645 July 3rd, 2003 at 08:32 AM
B
B
No Bunny isn't my real name, but Talarico is!! I hate rabbits! Bunny was my Grandpa's nickname for years and years. He died about 15 years ago but was a great gardner and recycler.

As far as the zuchini goes, mine are taking over my small garden. I had to take down part of the fence surrounding my garden so these things could have more room! Ugh! Iowa Dahlia, your right! But I still would like to get at least one zuchini off these things before I give up!

By the way, "Don Thompson", is THAT your REAL name??? :rolleyes: Just kidding.

Rock on everybody.
--Bunny T.

#12646 July 3rd, 2003 at 08:39 AM