This set of forums is an archive of our old CGI-Based forum platform (UBB.Classic) that was never imported to our current forum (UBB.threads); as such, no new postings or registrations are allowed here.

Please instead direct all questions and postings to the our current forum here.
Previous Thread
Next Thread
Print Thread
#12567 May 19th, 2003 at 06:09 AM
A
Anonymous
Unregistered
Anonymous
Unregistered
A
I need some advice on what to plant that may help block out some of my chain link fence.....I have a bed running the whole way down the side, about 30 feet or so....the spot is pretty much sunny with some late afternoon shade....The fence is about 5 feet high and it is just so ugly that any advice on how to hide it would be greatly appreciated....I am pretty new to gardening although my mom is somewhat of an expert gardener...I could ask her, but I would like all of your opinions....thanks! smile

#12568 May 19th, 2003 at 06:28 AM
P
P
Hi Loz,

The first plant that came to my mind is the Montana Clematis...or any other Clematis for that matter.

I found this article on the web....maybe you might get some ideas:

plants suitable to hide a wall -

Firstly, decide which way the wall in question is facing as this is imperative to know when selecting the most suitable plant.

North facing walls - the ground in front of a north facing wall will suffer from dampness and lack of sunshine. Some suitable varieties could be Clematis hybrids, climbing Hydrangea, Ivy, winter Jasmine or roses (e.g. 'Gloire de Dijon', 'Mme Alfred Carrière' and 'Mme Grégoire Staechelin').

South facing walls - as these get plenty of warmth and sunshine dry soil could be a problem. Try Honeysuckle, Passion flower or annual climbers mentioned above, such as Nasturtium and Morning Glory or Ceanothus, Mexican Orange or Myrtle which are more tender plants.

East facing walls lack sunshine and sometimes suffer from cold winds. Flowering Quince and Forsythia should be suitable and most roses would be O.K.