This set of forums is an archive of our old CGI-Based forum platform (UBB.Classic) that was never imported to our current forum (UBB.threads); as such, no new postings or registrations are allowed here.

Please instead direct all questions and postings to the our current forum here.
Previous Thread
Next Thread
Print Thread
#120554 November 4th, 2005 at 07:00 AM
AV Queen
OP Offline
AV Queen
So, as most of you know, I am now a real estate broker.

This came about after much thought on my part, mainly because I felt I need a career to fall back on if anything were to ever happen to Mike. Also, after the way we felt/were treated while going through the home buying process, I felt that I could do better for my clients.

It's now been a year, a very long and emotionally trying year. And now I am at my wit's end and come to you all in hopes that something someone says will shed some light for me.

My problem is two parts. First, I am constantly critisized for even being an agent. People have soooo many preconcieved notions about brokers. I am judged long before I ever open my mouth. Do you have any ideas how to get past this? What could an agent do to make a good impression on you?

Second, I'm not sure how long I can hold out in this competetive field. Dog eat dog does not EVEN begin to discribe it, and when you are trying to do the best for your clients, well you might as well staple a doormat to your forehead. It's affecting my life, my home, my marriage, my health....

How do you keep work and home separate?

Thanks for your time!!! gab

#120555 November 4th, 2005 at 07:50 AM
Wild Woman
Wild Woman
How do you keep work and home separate?
You don't...you can't! If you do not like your job...it will affect your homelife...is it worth that to you to be a broker? Is there another line of work you would enjoy more? compitition is fine to a POINT...but once it has overstepped that healthy line...it is no longer worth it.