This set of forums is an archive of our old CGI-Based forum platform (UBB.Classic) that was never imported to our current forum (UBB.threads); as such, no new postings or registrations are allowed here.

Please instead direct all questions and postings to the our current forum here.
Previous Thread
Next Thread
Print Thread
#11261 October 9th, 2003 at 10:15 PM
G
OP Offline
G
hi, I am new to the garden forum, and I have a question I hope you can answer. Is anyone familiar with a lovely lily, called stella doro. It is a beautiful flower and quiet expensive ( to me anyway)around $10 a bulb. I live in an adult community and the developer planted tons of them and now after 5 years many have disappeared. I am on the garden committee, and we are thinking about replacing them, but the cost causes us to hesitate. I am interested in knowing if anyone is familiar with this lovely flower. chris flw

#11262 October 10th, 2003 at 01:43 AM
The Cheetah!
The Cheetah!
GardenTina

Here is a site I found! 2 for $6.00. But I'll keep looking.

http://www.kankakeevalleyflowers.com/SpringBulbs.asp?NextPage=4

Welcome to The Garden Helper! Lots of great people here to yak with. Chime in whenever you like. wavey

#11263 October 10th, 2003 at 02:40 AM
Hi, GardenTina,

So glad catlover was able to find the Stellas for you at a reasonable price. They are a real favorite of mine because they bloom all summer.

Am trying to figure out why the originals have disappeared. You are supposed to dig them up and split them every three years but mine are such sturdy growers that I do them every two years. Is there a possibility that you could split the ones you have left? Its easy to do and they adjust very well to being spread out that way.

Good luck in your search. flw

#11264 October 10th, 2003 at 02:55 AM
B
The Garden Helper
The Garden Helper
B
Hi gardentina.... We meet again! Duh nutz

#11265 October 10th, 2003 at 03:36 AM