This set of forums is an archive of our old CGI-Based forum platform (UBB.Classic) that was never imported to our current forum (UBB.threads); as such, no new postings or registrations are allowed here.

Please instead direct all questions and postings to the our current forum here.
Previous Thread
Next Thread
Print Thread
#10956 May 6th, 2003 at 02:15 PM
M
OP Offline
M
I need to reseed about 5000 square feet of lawn, what is the most effective way of doing this? Should I mix seed in with the earth with each batch I put in the wheelbarrow, or load it into the wheelbarrow, dump it out, do the whole lot, and then go around spreading seed on it?

Thanks!

Lori in Montreal eek

#10957 May 11th, 2003 at 04:42 PM
F
F
I hope u got some answers concerning the reseeding of your yard.
Wish i could give u some advice, but i'm not an expert on cool season grasses.
In SC we grow 2 kinds of cool season grasses- fescue and annual rye, but warm season grasses are more common. Generally, when people reseed their lawn here, they pull a "roller thing" (don't know the technical name!) behind a garden tractor. It has spikes on it. It aereates (sp?) the ground and makes small holes. Then they spread their grass seed. Not sure if that is the proper way to reseed, but that is what many people do here. I also don't know whether it would be best thing to do where u live.

I have a warm season grass (centipede) and it puts out runners and fills in any bare places that might be present. There is no seeding involved.

By the way, i'm curious- what kind of grass seed are u sowing?

Best of luck with your reseeding project.

#10958 May 12th, 2003 at 10:18 AM
A
A