This set of forums is an archive of our old CGI-Based forum platform (UBB.Classic) that was never imported to our current forum (UBB.threads); as such, no new postings or registrations are allowed here.

Please instead direct all questions and postings to the our current forum here.
Previous Thread
Next Thread
Print Thread
#10748 June 16th, 2003 at 12:06 PM
B
BigBoy Offline OP
OP Offline
B
I really like tomatoes, but I am undecided as to whether I should continue to prune my tomatoes or leave them alone. I never pinch off the suckers when plants are wet but if I don't get rid of them, it seems that they take over. They grow from the forks and from the base and can get bigger than the main stem itself. Some plants that I have pruned appear to be in shock with curled leaves and branches. I have many different varieties of plants from reds to yellows and purples and whites, etc. Sizes range from cherry to biggest ones. I am not a novice at growing tomatoes but certainly am not an expert. What advice can you give me? Thanks. smile

#10749 June 16th, 2003 at 01:47 PM
The Cheetah!
The Cheetah!
Been growing tomatoes for many years in backyard and yes I am a novice as far as that goes. My question is WHY do you cut them back? Does it make the toms bigger? I've never heard of cutting them back. Does anyone else on this site cut them back?
Curious Catlover :rolleyes:

#10750 June 16th, 2003 at 04:21 PM
B
The Garden Helper
The Garden Helper
B
Long ago... when I used to grow tomatoes, I always pinched the plant back when it was about a foot tall, to get it to branch. After that I left them alone.... they are a vine afterall. I was told that whacking the suckers off would make the plant produce bigger, better fruits. I don't know which method is right. I guess it all depends on what you want as an end product, but I always had way more than we could eat. smile

#10751 June 16th, 2003 at 06:24 PM
Compost Queen!
Compost Queen!