This set of forums is an archive of our old CGI-Based forum platform (UBB.Classic) that was never imported to our current forum (UBB.threads); as such, no new postings or registrations are allowed here.

Please instead direct all questions and postings to the our current forum here.
Previous Thread
Next Thread
Print Thread
#105106 September 30th, 2004 at 02:01 AM
C
OP Offline
C
(I cross-posted this in the pests section, sorry.)

Several days ago we bought a Money tree from Target, and when we bought it it had this white stuff on most of the leaves. This morning several of the leaves look damaged. I'm kinda new to caring for plants, especially 'foreign' plants, so I'm wondering what/why this is (both the white stuff and the leaves being destroyed) and what should I do about it? Is it something serious enough I should move it away from the other plants (contagious?)

I took some pictures:
Some of the white stuff
Some of the damaged leaves
More of the damaged leaves
An underside shot, showing a little bit of the white stuff around the edges
More white stuff
More white stuff and a bit of the damaged leaves
More damaged leaves
More of both
Where it resides

It's ontop of our entertainment stand next to our Bonsai Japanese Juniper, and on the other side are two vases of Lucky Bamboo. The thing in the middle is fake. They're there because our apartment faces north by north-west and doesn't get much sun. Usually between 4pm to 6pm the sun peeks around the building and gives some direct sunlight to the entertainment stand and the plants. This is the best place I could find indoors that gives the plants direct sunlight. The rest of the day the plants receive indirect sunlight from that window (I leave the blinds open 24/7 to make sure they get as much sun as possible.)

Any help or opinions are greatly appreciated. Also some help/resources on caring for our various new plants (we got the Bonsai from a street vendor a few days before we bought the Money tree and Bamboo.)