This set of forums is an archive of our old CGI-Based forum platform (UBB.Classic) that was never imported to our current forum (UBB.threads); as such, no new postings or registrations are allowed here.

Please instead direct all questions and postings to the our current forum here.
Previous Thread
Next Thread
Print Thread
#101448 February 3rd, 2004 at 01:11 AM
hisgal2 Offline OP
OP Offline
Hello everyone,

So I'm pretty much new to everything. Never really did the message board thing or joined something like this place (which is really nice, BTW). I'm also pretty new to gardening. My husband and I just bought our 1st house about an hour NW of Philadelphia. The previous owner was a wonderful gardener. The house has beds of wild flowers all around the house and periwinkle in the front growing down a pretty steep hill. We have a butterfly bush in the middle of the badkyard, a grape arbor over out patio, and a wonderfully old pump at the very back of the yard that has a cistern that holds about 300 gallons of water for the very hot and dry summers that we've been getting.

We recently received a catelog for a seed supplier and I decided to get vegetable seeds. We have an area of the yard that the previous owners used to grow potatoes. I let the potatoesd die off and will be digging everything up when the ground thaws. I will be starting the seeds shortly, depending on how long the seeds need to be started before I can transplant them. I started to keep a sort of journal for my plantings and such. I heard somewhere that it is a good thing to do. I'm going to need alot of help with things, as I come from a long line of people with a "thumb of death".

So here's to friends that I will make, and the flowers that I will grow! flw

#101449 February 3rd, 2004 at 01:58 AM
wavey Welcome Jennifer wavey

Pull up a chair and enjoy this great site!