A Gardeners Forum
Posted By: 1firefly Norfolk Island Pine - November 11th, 2006 at 04:53 AM
I'm fairly good with houseplants/trees/shrubs and I had a Norfolk Island Pine that grew to 19 feet tall in my sunny house (okay, you're right, it's more my location than my green thumb) but I have a new one now. I just bought it, and it has EIGHT trees in a single two-gallon container. The largest is four feet tall.

I would like to break them up and repot them as singles, but read on this forum that they only like to be repotted once per year, in the spring.

My last one was only one plant. Is it better to have several together? Isn't eight a bit excessive? Is it okay to repot them at this time of the year, since they will be indoors? Is there any advantage to groupings/single plants?

Any suggestions would be appreciated.
Posted By: ceceharpo Re: Norfolk Island Pine - November 11th, 2006 at 05:34 AM
Hi, I'm no expert, but seeing as this plant is going to be remaining indoors, go ahead and transplant them now. It won't hurt them. But like any transplant, we bother the root systems of the plant, so it will hold back on its growth for a bit, not long, just until it adjusts to its new environment.

As for growing trees in a grouping or not, I prefer to keep mine separated, always. I have, as you most likely have also, seen the cause and effect of grouped trees during growth. The weaker will die, or become diseased, which isn't good for any of the trees in the end.

My own humble sugestion, separate them, give them each ample growing space and they should thrive under the right conditions.

Nice find btw, to have found a bucket with 8 in it altogether!
Posted By: 1firefly Re: Norfolk Island Pine - November 15th, 2006 at 06:20 AM
Thanks, Cece, I felt the same way, and appreciate your suggestion. Now I only need to find eight containers...
Posted By: ceceharpo Re: Norfolk Island Pine - November 22nd, 2006 at 11:48 AM