A Gardeners Forum
Posted By: ND farm girl Shrubs needed here - what to plant? - September 8th, 2006 at 07:14 AM
This is the east side of my house - this was taken earlier this spring. I have a lot of perenials that I have mapped out and/or have planted here now and planting this fall, but need some sort of shrub in the back - any idea? Some of the perenials are cone flowers, phlox, stella lilys, sedum, hardy hibiscus, baby's breath, shasta daisy, lisianthus, scabiosa, tree peony, delphinium, poppies, mountain coneflower, russian sage, columbines, and giant alium. Some of the annuals I have planned are cosmos, pestemons, snapdragons, etc.

I'm not good at picking out shrubs. There is a sunroom just to the right of this, I think I am going to put a few long-flowering minature lilacs that get about 3-4 feet tall. Any ideas???

[Linked Image]
Posted By: Anonymous Re: Shrubs needed here - what to plant? - September 8th, 2006 at 11:26 AM
is it east/west/north/south? how much sun does the area get - if partial sun, what times of the day are sunny and for how long?

are you looking for flowering shrubs or just leafy? or both?

can you post a pic of how the area looks with the flowers you've already planted?
Posted By: patches1414 Re: Shrubs needed here - what to plant? - September 8th, 2006 at 02:24 PM
I am going to put a few long-flowering minature lilacs that get about 3-4 feet tall.
Patty, I'm assuming that you're probably talking about the Dwarf Korean Lilac, am I correct? Duh I know there's a Dwarf Lilac 'Josee', but I think it gets about 5 or 6 feet tall. I have the Dwarf Korean Lilac and I love it! Duh but I believe most of these are hardy to zone 4.
Posted By: ND farm girl Re: Shrubs needed here - what to plant? - September 8th, 2006 at 05:21 PM
Joclyn - east side - sun all day.

I've just put in some timbers to raise the back half a bit to get some height.