This is MY FIRST time
planting anything!!!!
Sorry the pics are sooooo big!!!

Ninni
Posted By: maryann matthews Re: MY BABIES!! - July 25th, 2005 at 12:03 AM
thumbup
Ninni:
These are beautiful tomatoes!
I think the reason the stalks are spindly might be because they are in pots instead of in the ground?

It is just a guess though, I am not a tomatoe expert!

Happy Gardening flw
Posted By: ninniwinky Re: MY BABIES!! - July 25th, 2005 at 02:44 AM
well I would think that also, but the shorter little bushier one has a stalk the size of my wrist!! and its in a smaller pot!! Weird, huh???

Ninni
Posted By: LMT Re: MY BABIES!! - July 25th, 2005 at 03:00 AM
For years and too many years of growing plants in the house, I like to work a plant up in pot size. It seems to retain a more compact nature that way. I'm sure there's a reason.
Posted By: Bestofour Re: MY BABIES!! - July 25th, 2005 at 06:39 AM
Those are great looking tomatoes. Wonder if the pots are too shallow for the root system. Just a guess. I've never grown tomatoes in pots.

Are you realling listening to Neil Young? I like him with Crosby, Stills, and Nash but not a whole lot as a solo.
Posted By: LMT Re: MY BABIES!! - July 25th, 2005 at 08:19 AM
I pulled "Comes a Time" earlier today and have Arlo Guthrie in right now.
Posted By: Triss Re: MY BABIES!! - July 25th, 2005 at 08:21 AM
Beautiful tomatoes. In pots I have found that pruning as they are first growing gives you bushier plants. But you are getting great fruit so just keep them staked and they should make it to a beautiful red!
Posted By: ninniwinky Re: MY BABIES!! - July 25th, 2005 at 09:56 AM
Thanks Triss, I sure hope so!!!!!! I can't wait to have my Tomato and miracle whip sandwich!!!

Ninni
Posted By: Karrie Re: MY BABIES!! - July 28th, 2005 at 06:23 PM
I'd pull them maters right this moment and eat them fried! I bet they would taste better then my cinnamon rolls!
Posted By: ninniwinky Re: MY BABIES!! - July 28th, 2005 at 09:57 PM