A Gardeners Forum
Posted By: ninniwinky Help With my lilac - May 21st, 2005 at 02:57 AM
Hello everyone!!

I have a lilac bush that has been planted here about 20 years and this year there was only one flower cluster on it. I really can't get to the bush except for the flower cluster that is hanging over the brush, that I can reach. I was wondering if I would be able to start an additional lilac bush with the flower cluster once it dries up. I read that you can use the suckers to start up another bush but I can't reach them (they are the little new shoots coming up from the bottom, right?) Remember I am a beginner wavey I really wish I knew why that lilac bush didn't bloom this year ters

Thanks to all!!!!

ninni
Posted By: weezie13 Re: Help With my lilac - May 21st, 2005 at 05:45 AM
Ninniwinky,
Has it bloomed all along for you the last 20 years?
And last year was the first year with only one flower???

Any nitrogen being added to the area around the bush????

Did you prune the bush at all last year???

Weezie
Posted By: obywan59 Re: Help With my lilac - May 21st, 2005 at 09:47 AM
Are there any smallish brown dried up flower buds on the plant? They could be as small or smaller than the tip of your pinky. It's possible a late freeze killed the rest of the flower buds.

Other ways to propagate are to take cuttings in the fall or to layer in spring or summer. (Take a supple branch and bend it down into a small trench you have dug into the ground, bending the tip up so that you bury a section of the branch leaving the tip exposed.)
Posted By: ninniwinky Re: Help With my lilac - May 21st, 2005 at 03:53 PM