A Gardeners Forum
Posted By: hinda pear tree from seeds - May 15th, 2005 at 08:49 PM
i am very new at this gardening bit but i am very eager to have a beautiful garden. i wanted to try and gro a pear tree from seeds of pears after we ate them. how can i doo this. do the seed need special preparation? should the seeds be planted close to the top or dug furhter down? does it need to be heavily watered? how soon should i expect results. i unfortuntely dont even know what kind of pears these are. they are small green pears that i buy in the local store - keep in mind that i live in isrel
thanx
hinda wavey
Posted By: Anonymous Re: pear tree from seeds - May 15th, 2005 at 09:11 PM
wavey hi hinda! welcome... i don't have your answer, but wanted to say hi.
Posted By: tkhooper Re: pear tree from seeds - May 15th, 2005 at 11:38 PM
Some pears require cross pollination so you would need two different sorts of pears inorder to get fruit. And I'm afraid I don't know anything about their growing requirements. But if you only have about 8 weeks of growing season that may not be enough time for them to fruit. I have been reading up on your area as you can see. The ones you have may be a hybrid that is special to your area in which case you are going to have to find out that varieties name.
Posted By: obywan59 Re: pear tree from seeds - May 20th, 2005 at 05:17 PM
Pear trees definitely benefit from cross-pollination.

Seeds of fruit trees produce seedlings of varying quality, most of which will not be as good as the parents. Also, seedling trees would grow into full sized "standard" trees which would require tending with ladders and lots of climbing.

I would recommend buying a named variety of pear tree on a dwarfing rootstock. You would know what you were getting and being dwarf makes the care of the trees so much easier.