This set of forums is an archive of our old CGI-Based forum platform (UBB.Classic) that was never imported to our current forum (UBB.threads); as such, no new postings or registrations are allowed here.

Please instead direct all questions and postings to the our current forum here.
Previous Thread
Next Thread
Print Thread
#9949 December 22nd, 2003 at 09:46 PM
B
brian Offline OP
OP Offline
B
A friend of mine has sent me a bundle of these flowers, about 20. They are cut off at the ends, about a foot of actual stem I guess, until it begins to turn into the more leafy, "flower" part at the top. They are slightly brown, but for the most part do not look as though they've begun to open up. I would like to try and save them, but have no idea where to start as far as trimming, how many to put in one pot, etc...If anyone can advise me, I would appreciate it. I'm fairly new to the flower care business. Thanks. Brian

#9950 December 25th, 2003 at 09:45 PM
A
Anonymous
Unregistered
Anonymous
Unregistered
A
Brian,

Are you trying to extend the life of the cut flowers or are you trying to propagate them?

Will Creed

#9951 December 27th, 2003 at 03:07 AM
B
brian Offline OP
OP Offline
B
Will,
Thanks for responding. I did just want to try to extend the life of the flowers he sent me. Some had not even opened up. A few other people have seen them, and we have come to the conclusion that it is not possible to save them. They are quite brown, and just couldn't survive the trip over to the high altitude; I'm in CO. But that's alright. I'm moving to CA soon anyway so I'll get some there. Thanks again, and have a great New Year's. Brian

Originally posted by Will Creed:
Brian,

Are you trying to extend the life of the cut flowers or are you trying to propagate them?

Will Creed

#9952 December 27th, 2003 at 03:33 AM
The Cheetah!
The Cheetah!
Brian where in California are you planning to move?

Yeppie Weezie there is going to be another Californian!

When is the move scheduled?
wavey