This set of forums is an archive of our old CGI-Based forum platform (UBB.Classic) that was never imported to our current forum (UBB.threads); as such, no new postings or registrations are allowed here.

Please instead direct all questions and postings to the our current forum here.
Previous Thread
Next Thread
Print Thread
#98951 January 29th, 2007 at 11:53 PM
P
OP Offline
P
Hi everyone, I am a student studying a part-time degree in Business & Management. I live in Halifax in West Yorkshire, England. I am also a member of the Royal Air Force - I have served 20 years as an Avionics Technician. I need help with a case study! I have been tasked with an assignment to sell organic tulip bulbs to the USA market. I have been given a 10 hectare farm in Holland which is eco-friendly in every way. Unfortunately I know nothing about tulips and have no idea of the prices you pay or are willing to pay for eco-friendly bulbs. I need to market these bulbs to the USA market and I have a few thoughts as to how to do this but I need some questions answered.
1. I am considering writing an editorial to send to the top 10 eco-friendly gardening magazines or/and websites in the USA. Does anybody know of any?
2. I would like to know a reasonable price I could expect to sell them for - ie. 10 for $8 ?
3. Any information that you may feel is relevant.

I hope I have not offended anyone by writing to you all.

Thank you

Phil

#98952 January 30th, 2007 at 11:06 AM
Hi Phil,your plan sounds great ilove tulips. Things sell cheaper here than in England. I live 3hrs from Washington DC up in the mountains.I came to the USA 23years ago from manchester with my husband and children,you said you are from Yorkshire iKnow Yorkshire very well,ihave family who live in Harrogate.

Phil you must remember that tulips will only grow in certain states here due to extreme weather conditions

Forgive me if my typing is not great i'am new to the computor.