This set of forums is an archive of our old CGI-Based forum platform (UBB.Classic) that was never imported to our current forum (UBB.threads); as such, no new postings or registrations are allowed here.

Please instead direct all questions and postings to the our current forum here.
Previous Thread
Next Thread
Print Thread
Page 1 of 2 1 2
#94670 September 8th, 2006 at 09:55 PM
OP Offline
Since my surprise lilies have finally died back, I was outside digging them up. They haven't been divided in 5 years. This is my first time digging and dividing a buried bulb. It did not go well. The second batch I dug only had a single stem coming from the ground, but, unfortunately, had probably 7 very large (at least fist size) bulbs. about 5 I cut clear through with the shovel and 1 just got a gash, the last one apparently escaped my torture. Can any of the cut (or halved) bulbs be planted and actually grow (I wouldn't expect them to bloom next year)? Also, these butchered lilies were planted about a foot (if not more) below the surface. Could that be a factor in why all the bulbs didn't produce a stem/flower?

While trying to dig up my third batch (again a single stem) I dug about a foot away from the plant and have found a lot of very tiny "onions". Are these tulips? I know that there were tulips there once, but there wasn't even tulip foliage over there this year. I have probably pulled at least 2 dozen of these thumb or smaller sized bulbs. Could these be planted a bloom in a few years?