This set of forums is an archive of our old CGI-Based forum platform (UBB.Classic) that was never imported to our current forum (UBB.threads); as such, no new postings or registrations are allowed here.

Please instead direct all questions and postings to the our current forum here.
Previous Thread
Next Thread
Print Thread
#94196 January 25th, 2007 at 03:36 PM
B
OP Offline
B
Hi everyone!

I'm a newbie here and just posted on the welcome wagon. I found your forum by searching tree cultivation and was thrilled to have found such a great resource.

We moved to Florida from North Carolina a year ago and are likely to be purchasing land on the panhandle this year. The land we're looking at, sadly, has been clearcut of trees and one of my first projects will be to start establishing a group of shade and ornamental trees when we get there.

The problem? I can't seem to make much of anything grow here in Florida--and it's REALLY frustrating me! I've managed to get a bouganvilla bush growing nicely (she's doubled her size in under a year and stays in almost constant flower) and I have a few normally-indoor plants growing outdoors well plus some jasmine and a few bulbs, but I've put in a lot more than that only to see them wither and die or just sit there, stunted, and not do much of anything. I'm the first to admit that I'm still on a steep learning curve where gardening is concerned, but at least in NC I could pretty much grow whatever I planted.

So, my first question is about what trees I'm likely to have success with here and how to I begin working with them. (Somewhere I noticed talk about "suckers" and wondered if all trees can be cultivated in that way. Money is a big concern and that would be a wonderful way to start.)