This set of forums is an archive of our old CGI-Based forum platform (UBB.Classic) that was never imported to our current forum (UBB.threads); as such, no new postings or registrations are allowed here.

Please instead direct all questions and postings to the our current forum here.
Previous Thread
Next Thread
Print Thread
#93905 October 13th, 2006 at 10:55 AM
OP Offline
i don't have much room in my yard to make a large compost pile but I did have a spot to put my old plants from my garden (mainly my tomato plants) my question is, (i am still new to all of this) will this compost pile be ready for use as fertilizer for next spring? do i need to do anything special with this pile? i was only able to throw things on top of some weeds/bushes/leaves in my backyard.
i just want to know if this pile will be useful next year and if i need ot do anything to this pile.

i live in a neighboorhood and don't have a lot of room to work with.

any advice will be great!
thanks!
sarah

#93906 October 13th, 2006 at 10:10 PM
I wouldn't use an open compost pile, because it takes too much space, is unsightly and may attract pests. Better to get or build a bin. A google or yahoo search on compost bins will give you lots of information and ideas.

I've been using a black plastic composter that I picked up for free from my county extension office. I can turn over yard and kitchen waste into useable compost within 6 to 9 months. See my "Got Watermelons" post for the results.

#93907 October 26th, 2006 at 12:43 AM
Hi Sarah
I'm surprised the Compost Queen hasn't replied to this thread.....she must have missed it with all of the excitment happening down in Banter Hall.