This set of forums is an archive of our old CGI-Based forum platform (UBB.Classic) that was never imported to our current forum (UBB.threads); as such, no new postings or registrations are allowed here.

Please instead direct all questions and postings to the our current forum here.
Previous Thread
Next Thread
Print Thread
#91695 February 9th, 2007 at 05:42 PM
jaz Offline OP
OP Offline
Hi everybody,can anyone advice me on how and where to prune a bouganvillia shrub,I have quite a few in the garden mainly in pots as I havn.t got soil,I live on a rocky mountain :rolleyes:I also need to know when to prune,I'm a real novice at gardening but need to get my head around it, perpl I have never really enjoyed gardening and often find myself looking at it scanot knowing were to start,I need serious help....mmmm maybe just employ someone idea

#91696 February 10th, 2007 at 02:46 AM
R
R
depends on the way you want it to grow & how large.

invest in a book on pruning techniques.

#91697 February 10th, 2007 at 07:07 PM
M
MLN Offline
M
Jaz,
On the site, AllExperts,
(http://en.allexperts.com/q/Perennials-729/Bouganvilla.htm)
they state that bouganvillas, when used as a pot plant, should be pruned during the winter as pruning affects the next year's blooming. It also states that pruning is not necessary unless the plant has become messy. They don't state how to prune but, since they say to prune when it gets messy, I assume you only need to prune off enough to make the plant look neat again.

#91698 February 11th, 2007 at 04:33 PM
jaz Offline OP
OP Offline
Hi RugbyHukr and thanks for your reply.
I have 2 that I would like to grow in width to cover a fence,1, that is already a ball shape and would like to keep it that way but,(doesn't look to good at the moment)the other 2 are tall and slim,would like them to stay this way also.
When I go back to the UK I will keep my eyes open for a good prunning book wavey

MLM,thanks to you too,I think the link you sent is great wink