This set of forums is an archive of our old CGI-Based forum platform (UBB.Classic) that was never imported to our current forum (UBB.threads); as such, no new postings or registrations are allowed here.

Please instead direct all questions and postings to the our current forum here.
Previous Thread
Next Thread
Print Thread
#89378 February 8th, 2007 at 04:14 AM
D
OP Offline
D
Hello all,

I'm an absolute novice embarking on my first terrarium experiment involving two venus fly traps and two hermit crabs. I've been told that the fly traps need a hibernating period this time of year and that one should up root them and store them in an environment that is a constant 40 degrees. The only place in my apartment where I might be able to maintain such a temperature requirement would be my refrigerator! One of the plants appears now to be dead, in all honesty, after living for a month in my care and doing well for a while(it ate a moth and a fox-elder beetle). It has shriveled up a good deal. I've been told that these plants will, however, do that during their "dormant season." The other plant is doing much better and I'm using filtered, room-temperature tap water to keep them moist. The terrarium itself has the essential four layers of "earth" (that is, a coarse drainage layer of small gravel, a carbon filter layer, some coconut shell, and then a layer of potting soil [African violet mix]). So my question is, how do I know if the first plant is dead or just hibernating, and, do I actually need to uproot both of them and stick them in my fridge?!? I can send pics if necessary. Thanks a bunch!

#89379 February 10th, 2007 at 07:19 PM