This set of forums is an archive of our old CGI-Based forum platform (UBB.Classic) that was never imported to our current forum (UBB.threads); as such, no new postings or registrations are allowed here.

Please instead direct all questions and postings to the our current forum here.
Previous Thread
Next Thread
Print Thread
#82413 February 24th, 2007 at 12:48 PM
webwise Offline OP
OP Offline
Hi everyone. I am a complete newbie at practical gardening (but I read a book - LOL). Can anyone tell me the difference in properties between vermiculite and perlite please? I am growing my own palms from seed and was told to use vermiculite not perlite as a propagating medium but when I started on sarracenia and insectivores the 'in' thing seems to be perlite. It is sending me nuts wondering why in that they are both absolutely neutral. Thanks if any one can help.

#82414 February 24th, 2007 at 01:33 PM
A
Anonymous
Unregistered
Anonymous
Unregistered
A
those are totally different things.

vermiculite is also called worm dirt, worm castings, or worm manure. it is the end product from when worms digest their food, frequently what ever we put in there bins. worm composting is fun, economical, and easy, once you get set up. BUT, vermiculite is very rich and nutricious, and holds moisture well, but isn't like clay in that it doesnt get "hard" when it dries.

perlite is an absorbant substance (what escapes me right now) that is added to soil to increase water retention and porous-ness. great to make soil "lighter" but from what i can tell, has no significant nutrients for plants.

vermiculite is usually brown or black, and perlite is usually white.

hope this helps.

#82415 February 24th, 2007 at 02:33 PM
webwise Offline OP
OP Offline