This set of forums is an archive of our old CGI-Based forum platform (UBB.Classic) that was never imported to our current forum (UBB.threads); as such, no new postings or registrations are allowed here.

Please instead direct all questions and postings to the our current forum here.
Previous Thread
Next Thread
Print Thread
#78114 July 17th, 2006 at 05:36 AM
K
Katica Offline OP
OP Offline
K
I'm so sad. I'm new at gardening and have these great cucumber vines growing up my trellis with all kinds of flowers on them. They get tiny little cucumbers about 1-2 inches long with the flower still on the end. Then when I go back to check on them in a day or two, the tiny cucumbers have shriveled up and died. Any idea what's wrong and what I can do. I've tried to search the websites, but am so lacking in knowledge that I don't even know what to ask. Thanks for any help you can give me. ters

#78115 July 17th, 2006 at 06:42 AM
Welcome to the forum! wavey Are the leaves yellowing or are they still green and healthy? Have you seen any bugs or tiny spots on the leaves? How often and how much do you water? My plants were just recently exhibiting the same problems as yours. Then I remembered that cukes LOVE water. So I've started watering them 2-3 times more water and they are putting on cukes like crazy and growing even better than they were before!!

#78116 July 17th, 2006 at 06:43 AM
Compost Queen!
Compost Queen!
Katica,

Can you tell us a bit more about the growing
conditions...
The soil, regular garden soil..
is that soil loamy or clay like?
or bagged soil.. if so, what kind?

Is it in a regular garden or a raised bed?

What kind of watering are you doing?
Hose, drip hose, watering can, when it rains/ water only, at night, morning or afternoon?

Are you fertilizing, if so, what kind..
Liquid soluable you apply at watering...
or granular type you apply to the top of the soil?
Foliar?

What kind of growing conditions, like full sun,
half sun, shade..