This set of forums is an archive of our old CGI-Based forum platform (UBB.Classic) that was never imported to our current forum (UBB.threads); as such, no new postings or registrations are allowed here.

Please instead direct all questions and postings to the our current forum here.
Previous Thread
Next Thread
Print Thread
#74999 September 8th, 2006 at 07:14 AM
OP Offline
This is the east side of my house - this was taken earlier this spring. I have a lot of perenials that I have mapped out and/or have planted here now and planting this fall, but need some sort of shrub in the back - any idea? Some of the perenials are cone flowers, phlox, stella lilys, sedum, hardy hibiscus, baby's breath, shasta daisy, lisianthus, scabiosa, tree peony, delphinium, poppies, mountain coneflower, russian sage, columbines, and giant alium. Some of the annuals I have planned are cosmos, pestemons, snapdragons, etc.

I'm not good at picking out shrubs. There is a sunroom just to the right of this, I think I am going to put a few long-flowering minature lilacs that get about 3-4 feet tall. Any ideas???

[Linked Image]

#75000 September 8th, 2006 at 11:26 AM
A
Anonymous
Unregistered
Anonymous
Unregistered
A
is it east/west/north/south? how much sun does the area get - if partial sun, what times of the day are sunny and for how long?

are you looking for flowering shrubs or just leafy? or both?

can you post a pic of how the area looks with the flowers you've already planted?

#75001 September 8th, 2006 at 02:24 PM
I am going to put a few long-flowering minature lilacs that get about 3-4 feet tall.
Patty, I'm assuming that you're probably talking about the Dwarf Korean lilac, am I correct? Duh I know there's a Dwarf lilac 'Josee', but I think it gets about 5 or 6 feet tall. I have the Dwarf Korean lilac and I love it! Duh but I believe most of these are hardy to zone 4.

#75002 September 8th, 2006 at 05:21 PM
OP Offline
Joclyn - east side - sun all day.