This set of forums is an archive of our old CGI-Based forum platform (UBB.Classic) that was never imported to our current forum (UBB.threads); as such, no new postings or registrations are allowed here.

Please instead direct all questions and postings to the our current forum here.
Previous Thread
Next Thread
Print Thread
#36503 July 10th, 2005 at 09:35 AM
R
RumTum Offline OP
OP Offline
R
I have a serious dilemma - I have no idea what I'm doing! I have a totally blank canvas in my front yard (2 flower beds) and I have no idea what to do with them.

I have one flower bed in the full sun and one in the afternoon sun. I would like to have plants/flowers that are low maintenance - I have some time, but not tons of it. Looking forward to learning new things!! Thanks for all your help in advance!

#36504 July 10th, 2005 at 09:55 AM
Okay, you're Green! laugh Sorry, couldn't resist!

Welcome to the forum! You'll learn lots here - it's a great place wink I'm pretty new to gardening, and have learned SO much over the last few months that I've been here!

Right now I'm so tired my head is about to hit the keyboard, but stay tuned - I'm sure someone will be along shortly that will have plenty of great ideas for ya!

#36505 July 10th, 2005 at 05:31 PM
T
Official Blabber Mouth
Official Blabber Mouth
T
A blank canvas woohoo you luck person you!

My garden plan is already full and I've only been here since march but it changes every time I look at a garden catalog. I am disabled and can only garden for about 15 minutes at a time so I understand limited time in the garden. Once the garden soil is softened its pretty easy to keep it weeded and that where most of the time goes I think.

First things first is probably a good idea. Find out the PH of your soil. There are little kits cost about 10.00 that you can buy to do this. That will tell you if you need to amend the soil.

Second of all is how large are your beds? I have a 20 X 20 space that I am slowly reclaiming from the weeds.