This set of forums is an archive of our old CGI-Based forum platform (UBB.Classic) that was never imported to our current forum (UBB.threads); as such, no new postings or registrations are allowed here.

Please instead direct all questions and postings to the our current forum here.
Previous Thread
Next Thread
Print Thread
#36238 July 28th, 2005 at 12:29 AM
J
JIM2 Offline OP
OP Offline
J
I was just wondering about these giant green yuks! I have been gardening for 30 to 40 years in northern Indiana and have always had the big tomatoe worms,. Seems this year with hardly any rain the worms are more plentiful than ever. Also the worms were always plagued with the wasp eggs that look like rice kernels. This year I havent seen the rice kernels yet. Is this on acctount of no rain also? On 15 to 20 plants I have smooshed 30 of the green monsters. Whats up???? jcw

#36239 July 29th, 2005 at 02:50 AM
Compost Queen!
Compost Queen!
JIM2,
I know the egg like things on the catapillars
are sometype of preditory wasp thing...
That lays it's eggs on the catapillar, they host the eggs until it's time to hatch,
and they use the catapillar as lunch...

But, let me see if the BUGLADY can give gab you a much better teech answer crit than that!!!

Welcome to The Garden Helper by the way,
we're very glad you found us!!!

Theres' lot's to do here, so don't forget to peak
back at us here... there's something going on during every season... and especially during those long cold, blustery winters!!!

#36240 July 29th, 2005 at 02:59 AM
here ya go!

braconid wasps

#36241 July 29th, 2005 at 03:03 AM
Compost Queen!
Compost Queen!
Wow, that was F~>A~>S~>T!!!
Whew!!! I barely hit the send button..

Thanks!!!!

Great pictures by the way!!! thumbup thumbup thumbup flw

#36242 July 29th, 2005 at 09:26 PM
J
JIM2 Offline OP
OP Offline
J
Does anyone know if drought has anything to do with the quantity of hornworms or lack of wasps that go after the worms. jcw

#36243 July 30th, 2005 at 09:59 AM