This set of forums is an archive of our old CGI-Based forum platform (UBB.Classic) that was never imported to our current forum (UBB.threads); as such, no new postings or registrations are allowed here.

Please instead direct all questions and postings to the our current forum here.
Previous Thread
Next Thread
Print Thread
#31855 July 16th, 2005 at 08:09 AM
K
ktoad Offline OP
OP Offline
K
Hello All! I've been reading here for months and learning a lot from you (Thank You). Just came up with a question I don't see addressed so I decided to post.

I am a novice this year with a veggie garden, but getting along OK Bell & Jalapeno peppers, green & yellow squash, tomatoes, cilantro, and some mint and Amaranthus thrown in just for fun.

I had a slight problem with beetles and early on with some low yellow leaves on my plants, so my uncle suggested I apply Sevin. My new problem is some stinging creature that I've never had to deal with on the property before. A Google search tells me that all my new gardening may have attracted Yellowjackets.

Obviously, they must leave. But in addition to the fact that I don't want to go heavy on chemicals around food I will eat, I also have pets who use the yard as well. I've been nervous and using the Sevin sparingly due to the animals. Any suggestions? Thanks in advance!

Kelley

#31856 July 16th, 2005 at 06:38 PM
Hi Kelly,
Yellow Jackets can become a real pain in the @#&> eek . I dont vegetable garden but I do flower garden and have had many yellow jacket encounters.

They are particularly vicious and swarm once you enter their domain. I would not use chemicals as a spray because of the exposure to the veggies but would take the following steps: