This set of forums is an archive of our old CGI-Based forum platform (UBB.Classic) that was never imported to our current forum (UBB.threads); as such, no new postings or registrations are allowed here.

Please instead direct all questions and postings to the our current forum here.
Previous Thread
Next Thread
Print Thread
#27844 June 13th, 2005 at 12:23 AM
B
Butterz Offline OP
OP Offline
B
Hey. I am new to gardening and am only really doing this for one reason, because I love tropical plants. I love looking at them and think they are great.

The only problem is, I live in New York, where we don't have too many tropical plants. I want to plant my own tropical plants(specifically palm plants) in my house.

I need to know if most types of palsm can grow indoors. I want to buy seeds but dont want them to die or anything. Thanks.

#27845 June 15th, 2005 at 03:12 AM
A
Anonymous
Unregistered
Anonymous
Unregistered
A
Hi Butter,

I am a resident of NYC and I take care of indoor plants profesionally. You may be surprised at how many tropical plants we have growing indoors in NYC!

growing palms from seeds takes a very long time and they are not easy to germinate. I suggest that you purchase a small palm instead.

Selecting the right palm depends on the available light. Some palms do OK in low light and some must have direct sun.

If you can give me a detailed description of the light you have in tyh location you want to put the palm, I can help you select the right palm species.

Are you in the City? If so, which boro?

#27846 June 15th, 2005 at 07:04 AM
B
Butterz Offline OP
OP Offline
B
I am in Queens. I really don't know what kind of plants or anything I can grow, I am new to gardening. The only reason I started looking for this was because I like palm trees and would like to try to have one of my own.

Will, do you think you could give me some good started palms that are real easy to care for and maintain that I could get?

#27847 June 15th, 2005 at 07:19 AM
A
Anonymous