This set of forums is an archive of our old CGI-Based forum platform (UBB.Classic) that was never imported to our current forum (UBB.threads); as such, no new postings or registrations are allowed here.

Please instead direct all questions and postings to the our current forum here.
Previous Thread
Next Thread
Print Thread
#24723 October 23rd, 2004 at 02:09 AM
OP Offline
hi....i'm new to this area of the forum...(so much to read) anyway i did a seed exchange with a few people, only i'm new to gardening and now that i have all these seeds.....well, i'm just not sure when to plant them. heres a list of stuff i got. if someone has the time maybe they can tell me what needs to be planted in the fall. i would hate to miss out on fall planting. thank you so much!
My List:
humming bird vine (cypress vine)
stella d'oro
balsam
cockscomb
liatris
cosmos
brown (not black?) eyed susans
snap dragon
canna seed pods
straw flower
i'm in zone 5 if that helps.
thanks again!!

#24724 October 24th, 2004 at 10:07 AM
N
N
Hi Linda,
Great collection of seeds. First let's break them down into annuals and perennials.

Annuals:
cypress vine
balsam
cockscomb
cosmos
snapdragon
canna
strawflower

Perennials:
stella d'oro daylily
liatris
brown eyed susan

For your annuals, here are directions from this site.
http://www.thegardenhelper.com/growingseeds.html

For your perennials, winter sowing is easy and works well.

How to Winter Sow seeds Outdoors

It really is very easy to do as per Trudi Davidoff.

I am a true believer in "recycle and reuse". I had been saving my take-out containers from the Chinese restaurant (not those typical white boxes that have a metal handle and white rice inside), but the foil pans that have a separate clear plastic lid, they're usually round or rectangular. These containers were just perfect. The plastic containers that are rectangular and have clear plastic lids work just as well. I went to Walmart and got their brand which is the cheapest I could find.