This set of forums is an archive of our old CGI-Based forum platform (UBB.Classic) that was never imported to our current forum (UBB.threads); as such, no new postings or registrations are allowed here.

Please instead direct all questions and postings to the our current forum here.
Previous Thread
Next Thread
Print Thread
#17280 June 17th, 2004 at 02:53 AM
T
timmy Offline OP
OP Offline
T
i just planted a few african violets in my garden...

i have had african violets for years indoors, but this is my first time planting them outdoors...

is there anything that i should know?

will they survive the winter? can i just leave them in the ground?

btw... i live in the toronto area... we have very cold winters...

#17281 June 17th, 2004 at 04:23 AM
wavey Hi timmy,
I've never heard of planting african violets outside. I have raised them for years inside and considering their delicate nature, I don't think they will survive the cold. The leaves don't like to get wet although mine do like the humidity from a room humidifier. Are you sure they are african violets or are they , "violas"?

flw

#17282 June 17th, 2004 at 05:36 AM
nope them babies will not overwinter well at ALL up there.They don't like to be below 50& they love high humidity.I do grow mine outdoors in summer here in TX but leave in their pots& they like small pots not roomy pots& pots helps keep critters that bug your plants to a minumum.I know folks in FL& AU growing outdoors but have them temps and the gal in FL removes them durring rainy season and is in FL keys.AV is just basically your average houseplant.

#17283 June 21st, 2004 at 01:27 AM
M
M
I have 3 african violets too, mine are in the house though. I bought some liquid african violet food, and I was wondering how often I should use it? evertime I water them?

#17284 June 21st, 2004 at 05:49 AM