This set of forums is an archive of our old CGI-Based forum platform (UBB.Classic) that was never imported to our current forum (UBB.threads); as such, no new postings or registrations are allowed here.

Please instead direct all questions and postings to the our current forum here.
Previous Thread
Next Thread
Print Thread
#165429 March 14th, 2007 at 04:02 AM
ms.tmac Offline OP
OP Offline
I'm new to planting this perennial in my garden. I just wanted to know if there was a certain type of sand to mix in with the soil to plant Rudbeckia Hirta. And are there different types of sand or is all sand the same. Better still do I really have to add sand?? I have clay soil however, where I'm planting in the spring we've added topsoil and manure.

#165430 March 14th, 2007 at 05:51 AM
ms.tmac Offline OP
OP Offline
Yeah, I'm new to this site so I had no idea where to place this question. And yes I realize that Rudbeckia Hirta are Black Eyed Susans. I like to generally use the Latin names given to each plant species.

#165431 March 14th, 2007 at 02:48 PM
Compost Queen!
Compost Queen!
Sorry, I must have posted on the wrong open
page, Cindy had asked where this should go....

Too many pages open, is a no~no for me... shocked shocked shocked wink laugh

My BES's are in the regular dirt/soil here,
I don't even plant them in areas' where I've ammended the soil...
They are very easy to care for, and don't need any extra special care..

They're the type of a flower/plant that can and will grow on the side of a road side, or an open field, or just plant itself anywhere's the seed drops...

I have clay like soil, if it rains alot, water stands' for a bit.. and I had one plant that is by the side of my house, that has water run off from two parts of my roof, and they still did good..