This set of forums is an archive of our old CGI-Based forum platform (UBB.Classic) that was never imported to our current forum (UBB.threads); as such, no new postings or registrations are allowed here.

Please instead direct all questions and postings to the our current forum here.
Previous Thread
Next Thread
Print Thread
#112845 June 30th, 2005 at 04:10 AM
M
OP Offline
M
I'm really new to gardening and don't have a clue about anything. I'm putting in a pond, and I know it's going to bring a lot of mosquitos, so I was thinking if I could plant some carnivorous plants around it that would help control it. I don't know if it's possible with our winters and soil and all that but I'm looking for suggestions on how I can control the bugs without having an ugly zapper.

#112846 June 30th, 2005 at 04:19 AM
G
G
Will your pond have fishies? THey will eat up the bugs without any encouragement.

#112847 June 30th, 2005 at 06:19 AM
T
Official Blabber Mouth
Official Blabber Mouth
T
Hi Keith,

In case you missed my post up top I thought I'd post it down here too.

Skeeters don't like moving water so a fountain helps alot. Also fish in your pond will eat the larva. That should get you down to a manageable skeeter population.

Of course with my arms covered in skeeter bites I think one is way to many of those mean little suckers.

Enjoy the forum.

#112848 June 30th, 2005 at 11:08 AM
Hi! mntsitalons
Welcome! wavey

If you aren't going to have fish in your pond there are products out there that you can use that are safe that control mosquitoes. I use Mosquito Dunks. If you are going to have fish they will control them.

Donna flw

#112849 July 1st, 2005 at 10:30 PM
M
OP Offline
M
No I have some fish too put in the pond. I was thinking a few Koi. Any other suggestions? Are there any good pictures to look at too get some ideas. I plan to put it on tomorrow. Thank you.

#112850 July 2nd, 2005 at 03:04 AM
G
G