This set of forums is an archive of our old CGI-Based forum platform (UBB.Classic) that was never imported to our current forum (UBB.threads); as such, no new postings or registrations are allowed here.

Please instead direct all questions and postings to the our current forum here.
Previous Thread
Next Thread
Print Thread
#109040 July 14th, 2005 at 04:56 AM
C
OP Offline
C
Hi,

I live in Dumbarton, Scotland which is close to Glasgow and a short drive from Loch Lomond.

I'm an inventor, very occasional gardener but keen grower of all kinds of houseplants.

My background is in polymer chemistry and I worked in research for more than 20 years developing novel polymers mostly for medical applications but also sensors, membrane separation processes, controlled delivery of active agents and more.

One of my hobbies is cooking and especially with fresh kitchen herbs. I had developed a technique for watering herbs always from below. I did this to quite a strict regime with some success. One day I had a Eureka moment and applied my expertise to develop a controlled watering system based on special hydrogel membrane diffusion technology (sorry!). After great success with herbs especially basil I now look after lots of houseplants.

[Linked Image]

I have a daughter, rose, 4, and a son Peter, 8 months. Married to Ellen, who is an educational psychologist - and very patient!

Chris

#109041 July 14th, 2005 at 09:26 AM
JV Offline
Critter Keeper
Critter Keeper
wavey Welcome Chris_Moran to the garden helper we like all sorts here have quite a few from Britain. Hope you enjoy it here we will help you in any way we can.
Jimmy

#109042 July 14th, 2005 at 03:23 PM
Hi Chris
I'm from England wavey
We have a herb section if you have any questions.
Welcome to the forum
Nice to meet you
[Linked Image]

#109043 July 14th, 2005 at 07:39 PM
T
Official Blabber Mouth
Official Blabber Mouth
T
Hi, Welcome & Wow!