This set of forums is an archive of our old CGI-Based forum platform (UBB.Classic) that was never imported to our current forum (UBB.threads); as such, no new postings or registrations are allowed here.

Please instead direct all questions and postings to the our current forum here.
Previous Thread
Next Thread
Print Thread
Page 1 of 2 1 2
#102074 November 3rd, 2004 at 04:57 PM
Meg Offline OP
OP Offline
Is this scary or what?!
[Linked Image]

[Linked Image]

[Linked Image]

Now, I'm no spider expert, but these are bad, right? One was dead, by the one that was alive. I moved it with a stick (6 feet long!) so I could see it's underside to get a photo. I didn't kill it.. yet. sca

Meg

#102075 November 3rd, 2004 at 05:10 PM
the one with the red on the belly is a black widow
it can kill you depends on the size of the spider.

here's your black widow
http://ohioline.osu.edu/hyg-fact/2000/2061A.html

here we have the brown recluse. Bad too, makes your skin rot at the bite area.

#102076 November 3rd, 2004 at 05:15 PM
Meg Offline OP
OP Offline
Hey suzydaze.. that's what I thought. The spiders were identical, but one was dead in the web. I don't know, do they kill each other for territory? I guess I'll go poke it with a stick a little harder now..lol. It was a good size spider.. both were actually. I'd say body was close to dime size, without the legs. sca

Meg

#102077 November 3rd, 2004 at 05:35 PM
Official Problem Child
Official Problem Child
I guess I'll go poke it with a stick a little harder now..
laugh laugh laugh

Sorry...that just struck me funny!

I deal with these spiders all the time. They must like to make their homes in and around rocks, because they are under my rocks that I move constantly. I always wear leather gloves when I move the rocks...I'm not sticking a bare hand under there to get attacked!

Cindy

#102078 November 3rd, 2004 at 05:38 PM
the femal eats the male but I don't know if a male balck widow has the red on the belly.